Home Page > Faculties > Faculty of Law & Political Sciences > Moot Court > ATU's Moot Academy 

ATU's Moot Court Academy

Allameh Tabataba'i University's (ATU) “Moot Court Academy” was established in 2015 in the Faculty of Law and Political Sciences (LPS). Since its establishment, the Moot Court Academy (MCA) has tried to advance the university's goals and to move further from pure theoretical content toward students' practice in simulated legal courts and proceedings, simply called “moots”.
The MCA was founded by a board of experienced faculty members and awyers at LPS, including Dr Hamidreza Oloumiyazdi, Dr Behzad Razavifard, Dr Seyed Ghasem Zamani, Dr Pouria Askari, and Dr Ali Moghadam Abrishami, as well as two active Master’s graduates, namely Mr Ali Dehdashti and Mr Masoud Mahboub.
As one of the few Moot Academies in Iran, the innovative MCA is mainly aiming at improving the level of legal studies at the country; training students in practical aspects of law and legal proceedings; helping law students and graduates to use their theoretical knowledge in practical trials; teaching students about the protocols and norms dominating the international courts; highlighting the scientific and academic capacities of students educating at and graduating from Iranian universities; improving the status of Allameh Tabataba’i University, as one of the largest public universities in West Asia which is focused on humanities and social sciences; enhancing the country’s legal diplomacy, and the like.
During recent years, the MCA has been actively involved in the areas of Philip C. Jessup Moot; Willem C. Vis Moot; Media Moot, and Henry Dunant Moot. The four moot teams at ATU and their competitions are briefly introduced in the following pages: