At a Glance

Below, some of the information about the Faculty of Statistics, Mathematics, and Computer is provided in short to help you obtain a bird's-eye view of its data at a short glance.


  • Initially established in the form of a department (Department of Statistics) since 1984;
  • In 2013, the Faculty of "Mathematical Sciences and Computer" was officially established with three department;
  • The Faculty continued its activities in the same Campus as the Faculty of Economics until 2018 when the SMC Faculty moved to another, separate campus in Tehran;
  • In November 2019, the Faculty was renamed to the "Faculty of Statistics, Mathematics, and Computer" to highlight the three main areas covered therein.


The SMC has three departments, namely the

  • Department of Computer
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Statistics

To date, eight degree programmes are provided in the Faculty:

Degree Programmes Offered in the SMC

Faculty Members

To date, a total of 21 full-time faculty members are providing educational and research services to students at Bachelor's, Master's, and PhD levels.

The graphics below provide a summary of the faculty members' ranks and the ratios of students by gendre and degree levels.


The Faculty is currently publishing one journal in English. The newly issued Journal of Computational Statistics and Modeling is a peer-reviewed, quarterly-published, scholarly journal welcoming original articles making "theoretical and methodological advances relating to computational aspects of data science, such as Computational Statistics, Bayesian Computation, Computational Mathematics, and Data Mining".


There is a library in the Faculty, keeping a catalogue of more than 4550 volumes in English, Persian, Arabic, German and other languages.

There are also hundreds of Master's theses and PhD dissertations in the library, and users may enjoy free online access to all theses and dissertations at ATU's Digital Library portal.