

### Allameh Tabataba'i University (ATU)

As the largest humanities and social science-focused university in Iran, Allameh Tabataba'i University (ATU) was formally founded in 1984 and named after the Iranian contemporary philosopher, Allameh Mohammad Hossein Tabataba'i. ATU was established through merging 25 different colleges, schools, and universities. At first, the university started its academic and research activities with six Faculties. ATU is currently providing educational and research services to students at 11 different Faculties, all focused mainly on the humanities and social sciences. The Faculties are briefly introduced below.

## **Faculty of Persian Literature and Foreign Languages**

ATU Faculty of Persian Literature and Foreign Languages was founded in May 1984, by merging several schools, colleges, and higher education centers, such as College of Translation, College of Persian Literature and Foreign Languages, Damavand College, and the Research Center for Iranian Culture. It is located in North-west Tehran, in South Allameh St., Pol-e Modiriyat. The Faculty includes various foreign-language disciplines including Arabic, Chinese, Russian, English, German, Spanish, Turkish, and French.

# **Faculty of Theology and Islamic Studies**

In 2013, ATU Faculty of Theology and Islamic Studies became independent from the Faculty of Persian Literature and Foreign Languages. It includes diverse disciplines in Islamic Studies. In 2020, the Faculty moved from the Modiriat Campus to Central Campus at Dehkade-ye Olampik.

# **Faculty of Economics**

In 1984, ATU Faculty of Economics was founded by merging several leading schools and colleges in the fields of commerce, banking, and insurance.

## Faculty of Statistics, Mathematics, and Computer

Formerly named as the Faculty of Mathematical and Computer Sciences, it was renamed to the Faculty of Statistics, Mathematics, and Computer in 2018. The Faculty includes three departments of computer, mathematics, and statistics. The disciplines offered in this Faculty have an interdisciplinary approach to humanities and the areas of computer science and statistics.

#### **Faculty of Management and Accounting**

The Faculty includes 6 Departments, namely the Department of Accounting, Industrial Management, Public Administration, Business Administration, Tourism Management, and Financial Management. This Faculty is located in ATU's Central Campus.

## **Faculty of Law and Political Sciences**

This Faculty is generally focused on the broad areas of Law, Political Science, and Political Economy. The six Departments working in the Faculty include the Departments of International Relations, Political Science, Political Economy, Public and International Law, Private Law, and Criminal Law and Criminology.

# **Faculty of Psychology and Education**

The Faculty of Psychology and Education is providing educational and research services to students and researchers at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. It currently includes 11 Departments, namely the Departments of Philosophy of Islamic Education; Knowledge and Information Science; Psychology of Exceptional Children; Educational Psychology; Educational Technology; Educational Measurement; Curriculum Studies; Education; Clinical Psychology; Counselling; and Educational Planning and Administration. The Faculty is located in ATU's Central Campus.

#### **Faculty of Social Sciences**

The Faculty of Social Sciences is providing educational services at all levels. The seven departments actively working in this Faculty include the Departments of Sociology; Social Work; Social Planning; Cooperation and Social Welfare; Women Studies; Cultural Studies; and Demographics.

## **Faculty of Communication Sciences**

The Faculty was formerly a part of the Faculty of Social Sciences. However, it became independent in 2017. It currently includes three departments: Department of Public Relations; Department of Journalism; and Department of Communication Science. There is, moreover, a UNESCO Chair in this Faculty as well as a Centre of Excellence in Communications and Media.

# **ECO College of Insurance (ECOI)**

The ECO College of Insurance is located and administered by Allameh Tabataba'i University. However, it is also supported by the Economic Cooperation Organisation (ECO) and annually several students from the ECO member states are admitted in this College. The College is one of the most outstanding HE institutes in Iran in the field of Insurance and Risk Management. All the courses in ECOI are offered in English.

## **Faculty of Physical Education and Sports Sciences**

This Faculty provides educational and research services in the areas of sports pathology, psychology, management, and physiology.

**Dr Mandana Tishehyar**Director of international Academic Cooperation,
Allameh Tabataba'i University

